Our Chamber of Commerce began as the Retailers Protective Association of Cumberland in 1906, followed by a rebranding as The Merchants and Manufacturers Association of Cumberland, MD in 1912, and just two years later, The Cumberland Chamber of Commerce, Incorporated. For over 50 years, that remained until 1968 when yet another name change was made as the Western Maryland Chamber of Commerce, Incorporated, followed by The Greater Cumberland Chamber of Commerce, Incorporated in 1975. Finally, in 1986, the Allegany County Chamber of Commerce, Inc. was adopted (hopefully for good!).
All of these name changes are indicative of the organization’s role in the development, sustainability, growth, revitalization, and overall history of the community. The name is not the only part of our history that has gone through a number of changes. The first offices were located in City Hall until 1921, then the Liberty Trust Building until 1962. Another move to 68 Baltimore St. for a short time, and from there to 42 N. Liberty St. in 1968. In 1973, the organization’s offices were relocated to the unique Bell Tower Building where we remain today.
Throughout 2021, we have featured historical articles in our monthly newsletter to highlight the work of the Chamber.
Click to read each month's submission: April, May, June, July, August, September, October, November