Outstanding Business Recognition Reception 

The Allegany County Chamber of Commerce is seeking nominations for its 2022 Outstanding Business Recognition Awards. The award winners are honored at the Chamber’s Outstanding Business Reception in November 2022. Since 1988 the event has been the Chamber’s premier annual opportunity to recognize Allegany County’s best.


The Chamber’s three (3) most esteemed awards are given annually at the Outstanding Business Recognition Reception. The awardees are limited exclusively to Chamber members who are recognized by their peers as making exemplary contributions to the community by:

          1.       Contributing to the betterment of the region through community service, leadership roles, and achievements that benefit the people and the progress of our county.

          2.       Demonstrating an exemplary model in professional and personal practice. Awardees provide a role model for other business professional and community leaders; hold a greater vision for self and for company ethic that models progress; and raise the standard for professionals locally.

Criteria for the Business of the Year are based on the following:

For the business best demonstrating positive economic impact in our community while including significant contributions to the community’s growth and well-being. This business would demonstrate an exceptional level of representing their industry and the local business community as a whole. Benchmarks may be exemplary staying power, sales growth, employee growth, production expansion, significant improvement in financial position, etc.

Criteria for the Entrepreneurial Spirit Award are based on the following: 

For the individual, founder, or team who has demonstrated the best of community-wide benefits of the entrepreneurial spirit. Benchmarks may be a significant product, service or technology innovation, successfully taking a division in a totally new direction, starting a new product/service line, innovative ways to overcome significant challenges, etc.

Criteria for the Community Service Award are based on the following:

For the individual or organization best demonstrating Chamber members’ involvement in community service. Benchmarks may be demonstrations of regularly going above and beyond their core mission, in order to serve our broader community.                  


Any designated representativeof a Chamber member may nominate another Chamber member [self-nominations are acceptable].

The basic Nomination Package must include:

  • Single cover page listing:
    • Full name, title, business & home address, all contact phones/faxes/emails of Nominee
    • Award for which nomination is being made
    • One paragraph summaryof nominee’s business or organization, date of establishment, scope
    • Full name, title, business address, contact info of Nominator
  • Letter of Nomination (1 to 3 pages) which specifically details those outstanding actions and characteristics which elevate this person and/or organization above others. Nominators should keep in mind the large number of very active local businesses and individuals and highlight those attributes and performance that merit the award.
  • Signed Release giving the Chamber permission to, at the Chamber's discretion, promote the nominee in media, publications, etc.

The Nomination Package may also include Appendix/Supplemental Information such as new articles, photographs, magazine articles, etc.

All complete Nomination Packages must be postmarked or received by the Chamber office by 4:00pm Friday, June 17, 2022. Incomplete packages or packages received after the deadline will not be considered.

The award winners will be chosen by a seven (7) person committee consisting of current Allegany County Chamber of Commerce Executive Committee and Past Presidents Advisory Council members. All winners will be notified on or before Friday, July 29, 2022.

Complete form online (click button below), or download form here.

The Chamber is proud to partner with the Western Maryland Jaycees to honor their Outstanding Young Professional each year.

For nomination guidelines and details, click below to download the form.

Contact the Chamber

OFFICE: 24 Frederick Street, Cumberland, MD 21502

PHONE: (301) 722-2820

EMAIL: info@alleganycountychamber.com
Except for holidays, we're here Monday through Thursday 8am-5pm and 8am-4pm on Fridays.
Read Our Privacy Policy
Copyright 2021 | Allegany County Chamber of Commerce - All Rights Reserved.